The University of Texas Permian Basin

    Odessa, Texas · Public · 3,911 undergraduates · utpb.edu

    The University of Texas Permian Basin logo

    Test policy (fall 2027)

    Test optional

    Sending scores is your choice

    Admit rate

    96%

    of 1,563 applicants

    SAT (middle 50%)

    900 to 1090

    of enrolled freshmen

    Annual cost (2027-28)

    $30,090Est.

    $42,680 out of state

    Your chances and merit aid at The University of Texas Permian Basin

    See where you stand for admission, how much merit aid you could get, and what you'd pay after it.

    We started you at a typical enrolled freshman here. Move the sliders to match you.

    3.35
    2.004.00
    1010
    8001600

    Your admission chances

    96% of applicants admitted

    Target

    Your SAT is inside the range where the middle half of enrolled freshmen scored, and your GPA is in the middle half of freshmen's.

    Estimated merit aid

    a year

    Your cost after merit aid

    $40,680

    a year in 2027-28, from a $42,680 sticker price (out of state)

    What to do with your 1010

    Send your score

    About 56% of freshmen here didn't send a score. We estimate their typical SAT at about 890, and yours is above it.

    Named scholarships you may qualify for (2)

    3 more awards need a higher GPA or score. See every tier

    Reach, target and likely are a rough guide from your test score and how selective the college is. Admissions also weigh your courses, grades, essays and activities. Merit aid figures are estimates, before any need-based aid.

    Admissions

    Test policy for fall 2027

    Test optional

    You choose whether to send an SAT or ACT score. If you send one, it's considered.

    Application deadlines

    • Aug1Regular Decision · August 1, 2027The standard deadline.

    Who gets in

    96%

    of applicants were admitted: 1,508 of 1,563 for fall 2025.

    Test scores of enrolled freshmen (fall 2025)

    The shaded part shows the middle half of enrolled freshmen who sent scores: a quarter scored below it and a quarter above. 40% of them sent SAT scores and 5% sent ACT scores.

    SAT total 900 to 1090

    Reading and Writing 460 to 560

    Math 440 to 540

    ACT composite 17 to 23

    How enrolled freshmen scored on the SAT

    • 1400 to 16000.4%
    • 1200 to 13997.5%
    • 1000 to 119946%
    • 800 to 99940%
    • 600 to 7995.8%
    • 400 to 5990.4%

    High school GPA of enrolled freshmen

    Average GPA: 3.33

    • 4.011%
    • 3.75 to 3.9916%
    • 3.50 to 3.7416%
    • 3.25 to 3.4916%
    • 3.00 to 3.2413%
    • 2.50 to 2.9920%
    • Below 2.508%

    Cost and financial aid

    The sticker price is what a year costs before any aid. Most students pay less after grants and scholarships.

    Sticker price for 2027-28Estimate

    $30,090

    a year, in state

    $42,680

    a year, out of state (tuition $19,360)

    • Tuition (in state)$6,770
    • Fees$3,120
    • Food and housing$14,710
    • Books and supplies$1,730
    • Transportation and other$3,760

    The University of Texas Permian Basin published $29,237 in state for 2026-27. Its 2027-28 prices aren't out yet.

    What families actually pay

    What a year cost on average after grants and scholarships, for freshmen who got federal aid in 2023-24 (in-state students), by family income.

    Family incomeAverage price a year
    • $0 to $30,000$4,785
    • $30,001 to $48,000$7,384
    • $48,001 to $75,000$8,835
    • $75,001 to $110,000Not reported
    • Over $110,000Not reported
    Estimate your own price with The University of Texas Permian Basin's calculator

    Financial aid

    57%

    of a student's financial need is covered, on average

    $8,084

    average need-based grant to freshmen, money you don't repay

    12%

    of freshmen got merit aid without financial need, $3,904 on average

    FAFSA
    Required for need-based aid. It's the free federal aid form.
    CSS Profile
    Not required. Only the FAFSA is needed.

    Merit scholarships

    Awards for grades and scores, on top of need-based aid. You don't repay them.

    • Falcon Elite Scholarship

      $4,000 a year

      Automatic · No separate application

      • 3.90+ GPA, must meet standard admission requirements

      Deadline: April 15 (admission application). To keep it: a 2.5 college GPA, and stay a full-time student (12 credit hours each fall and spring); it renews for up to 4 years.

      Details
    • Falcon Excellence Scholarship

      $3,000 a year

      Automatic · No separate application

      • 3.70 to 3.89 GPA, must meet standard admission requirements

      Deadline: April 15 (admission application). To keep it: a 2.5 college GPA, and stay a full-time student (12 credit hours each fall and spring); it renews for up to 4 years.

      Details
    • Falcon Achievement Scholarship

      $2,000 a year

      Automatic · No separate application

      • 3.35 to 3.69 GPA, must meet standard admission requirements

      Deadline: April 15 (admission application). To keep it: a 2.5 college GPA, and stay a full-time student (12 credit hours each fall and spring); it renews for up to 4 years.

      Details
    • Falcon Recognition Scholarship

      $1,000 a year

      Automatic · No separate application

      • 3.25 to 3.34 GPA, must meet standard admission requirements

      Deadline: April 15 (admission application). To keep it: a 2.5 college GPA, and stay a full-time student (12 credit hours each fall and spring); it renews for up to 4 years.

      Details
    Show 1 more scholarships
    • Presidential Scholarship

      Full tuition

      Competitive · Application required

      • typically top 5% of senior class, competitive SAT/ACT required; application with recommendation letter, resume, 500-word essay

      Deadline: December 1, 2026. To keep it: a 2.5 college GPA, stay in good academic standing (not on academic probation), and stay a full-time student.

      Details

    Compare awards across colleges with the merit aid calculator.

    AP credit

    AP exams that earn credit can replace college courses, so you pay for fewer of them and may graduate sooner.

    AP exams that earn credit

    18 of 18

    Earn credit with a score of 3

    16 exams

    A 3-credit course is worth

    about $680Est.

    at 2027-28 tuition for in-state students

    Credit for each AP exam
    ExamScore neededCreditsCounts as
    Art History33ARTS 1303
    Art History46ARTS 1303 & 1304
    Biology34BIOL 1306/1106
    Biology48BIOL 1306/1106 & 1307/1107
    Calculus AB34MATH 2413
    Calculus BC38MATH 2412, 2413
    Chemistry34CHEM 1331/1133
    Chemistry48CHEM 1331/1133 & 1332/1134
    Computer Science A34COSC 1430
    Drawing33ARTS 1316
    English Language and Composition33ENGL 1301
    English Literature and Composition33ENGL 1302
    European History33HIST 2312
    Macroeconomics43ECON 2301
    Microeconomics43ECON 2302
    Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism34PHYS 2326/2126
    Physics C: Mechanics34PHYS 2325/2125
    Psychology33PSYC 1301
    Spanish Language and Culture24SPAN 1411
    Spanish Language and Culture38SPAN 1411 & 1412
    Spanish Language and Culture411SPAN 1411, 1412 & 2311
    Spanish Language and Culture514SPAN 1411, 1412, 2311 & 2312
    United States Government and Politics33PLSC 2305
    United States History33HIST 1301
    United States History46HIST 1301, 1302

    Source: AP credit policy

    After college

    Graduate within 6 years

    41%

    Come back for a second year

    61%

    Typical earnings

    $61,557

    a year, 10 years after starting here

    • The University of Texas Permian Basin$55,627
    • All colleges$60,083

    Median yearly earnings of graduates five years after finishing a bachelor's in this major. 7 majors here have earnings data.

    Keep exploring

    Figures marked Estimate are our estimates, not numbers the college published. Check each college's own site before you apply. SAT is a trademark of College Board, and ACT is a trademark of ACT, Inc. Sharp is not affiliated with either, or with The University of Texas Permian Basin. The The University of Texas Permian Basin logo is a trademark of the college.