Texas Southern University

    Houston, Texas · Public · 6,844 undergraduates · tsu.edu

    Texas Southern University logo

    Test policy (fall 2027)

    Varies by applicant

    Depends on the applicant

    Admit rate

    97%

    of applicants

    SAT (middle 50%)

    800 to 1000

    of enrolled freshmen

    Annual cost (2027-28)

    $32,850Est.

    $45,550 out of state

    Your chances and merit aid at Texas Southern University

    See where you stand for admission, how much merit aid you could get, and what you'd pay after it.

    We started you at a typical enrolled freshman here. Move the sliders to match you.

    3.70
    2.004.00
    900
    8001600

    Your admission chances

    97% of applicants admitted

    Target

    Your SAT is inside the range where the middle half of enrolled freshmen scored.

    Estimated merit aid

    a year

    Your cost after merit aid

    $45,550

    a year in 2027-28, from a $45,550 sticker price (out of state)

    What to do with your 900

    Send your score

    Your SAT is at or above the median of freshmen who sent scores (900).

    Reach, target and likely are a rough guide from your test score and how selective the college is. Admissions also weigh your courses, grades, essays and activities. Merit aid figures are estimates, before any need-based aid.

    Admissions

    Test policy for fall 2027

    Varies by applicant

    Whether you need a score depends on your situation; check the college's rules.

    • Send official score reports when you apply.
    • Unconditional admission with a high school GPA of 2.5 or higher OR ACT 17 / SAT 900; automatic admission for top 25% with GPA above 2.5; holistic review for others (capped at 30% of admits).

    Application deadlines

    • Jul15Regular Decision · July 15, 2027The standard deadline.

    Who gets in

    97%

    of applicants are admitted.

    Test scores of enrolled freshmen

    The shaded part shows the middle half of enrolled freshmen who sent scores: a quarter scored below it and a quarter above.

    SAT total 800 to 1000

    Reading and Writing 420 to 520

    Math 380 to 480

    ACT composite 15 to 19

    Cost and financial aid

    The sticker price is what a year costs before any aid. Most students pay less after grants and scholarships.

    Sticker price for 2027-28Estimate

    $32,850

    a year, in state

    $45,550

    a year, out of state (tuition $22,140)

    • Tuition (in state)$9,440

    What families actually pay

    What a year cost on average after grants and scholarships, for freshmen who got federal aid in 2023-24 (in-state students), by family income.

    Family incomeAverage price a year
    • $0 to $30,000$16,282
    • $30,001 to $48,000$25,862
    • $48,001 to $75,000$25,460
    • $75,001 to $110,000Not reported
    • Over $110,000Not reported
    Estimate your own price with Texas Southern University's calculator

    Financial aidEstimate

    95%

    of freshmen receive grants

    $9,823

    average grant to freshmen

    AP credit

    AP exams that earn credit can replace college courses, so you pay for fewer of them and may graduate sooner.

    AP exams that earn credit

    25 of 25

    Earn credit with a score of 3

    21 exams

    A 3-credit course is worth

    about $940Est.

    at 2027-28 tuition for in-state students

    Credit for each AP exam
    ExamScore neededCreditsCounts as
    2-D Art and Design33ART 133
    3-D Art and Design33ART 134
    Art History33ART 130
    Biology34BIOL 131/111
    Biology48BIOL 132/112
    Calculus AB34MATH 241
    Calculus BC44MATH 242
    Chemistry34CHEM 131/111
    Chemistry48CHEM 132/112
    Chinese Language and Culture33CHNS 131
    Chinese Language and Culture46CHNS 132
    Comparative Government and Politics33POLS 240
    Computer Science A33CS 116
    Drawing33ART 131
    Drawing43ART 132
    English Language and Composition33ENG 131
    English Language and Composition46ENG 132
    English Literature and Composition33ENG 235
    Environmental Science33PHYS 101
    French Language and Culture33FR 131
    French Language and Culture46FR 132
    Macroeconomics33ECON 231
    Microeconomics46ECON 232
    Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism58PHYS 252
    Physics C: Mechanics44PHYS 251
    Psychology33PSY 131
    Spanish Language and Culture33SPAN 131
    Spanish Language and Culture46SPAN 132
    Statistics33MATH 231
    United States Government and Politics33POLS 235
    United States Government and Politics46POLS 236
    United States History33HIST 231
    United States History46HIST 232
    World History: Modern33HIST 131
    World History: Modern46HIST 132

    Source: AP credit policy

    After college

    Graduate within 6 years

    24%

    Come back for a second year

    66%

    Typical earnings

    $46,064

    a year, 10 years after starting here

    • Texas Southern University$52,797
    • All colleges$71,390

    Median yearly earnings of graduates five years after finishing a bachelor's in this major. 23 majors here have earnings data.

    Keep exploring

    Figures marked Estimate are our estimates, not numbers the college published. Check each college's own site before you apply. SAT is a trademark of College Board, and ACT is a trademark of ACT, Inc. Sharp is not affiliated with either, or with Texas Southern University. The Texas Southern University logo is a trademark of the college.